ALPs blue velvet question - new to DIY audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

this is my first post here... I have some experience with electronics, but DIY audio is fairly new to me. I have an older amp that I am attempting to upgrade with a new potentiometer for the volume. This is mostly due to the previous pot breaking.

The original pot was a 70K very basic dual unit alps. 70k seems to be impossible to find so I have decided to go with a 100K instead.

So i was able to track down a Alps rk27112 series pot at Mouser which seem fairly well regarded and relatively cheap... however, the exact part number that they carry seems to be undocumented and has some aspects that I cannot figure out. The full part numer is RK27112-s20c1mn104. This does not seem to correspond completely with all of the part number breakdowns in the data sheet, however, I can say with certainty that it is a dual unit, single post, slotted 20mm shaft, with one center detent (unfortunately, this was a surprise to me when I received it), and 100K Ohm. aprox. 300 degree rotation.

I've soldered the thing in place which brings me to my confusion and question:
when rotated all the way to the left no volume comes out (as expected). as you turn the pot towards center only one channel increases in volume so that at center that one channel is at peak and the other channel has no volume. then as the pot passes center the other channel comes up as well, so that at full right both channels seem to be aprox. equal.

This seems like very strange behavior to me. At first i thought maybe the part was for channel balance, but on second thought that doesn't make any sense either.