OP amp replacement for TLO71

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

Recently I have replaced the NE5532 with the BB OPA2604 and the LM741 with the AD711 in my cd player. The player uses a pair of 12ax7 tubes as buffer.

There is one more pair of TLO71 (right behind the 12ax7s) which I intend to replace with either the BB OPA604 or the BB OPA627. I am not too technical and would like to chose one as a direct drop in "plug and play" kind of mod. Which op amp will be mine best bet?

I read that the 627s draw too much current and may pose a problem.?

Thanks for any inputs.

lm741 is a generic op-amp, not even a audio-use op amp that means the cd maker was really X 100 trying to cut cost. tl071 is a single op-amp that means you can try the standard ne5534 to ad825. Of course for really good improvement try the ad825. The op-amp is a jfet style opamp. Really good. Try chaning along the lines of a fet opamp. ad 825 if the price is right for you go for it

Oops, missed the TL071 business.

But it's ALMOST as poor a component as
the 741. Wouldn't use it in anything
that I have to listen to. The
AD711 would be an OK replacement though
as others noted there are many possibilities
in single op-amps.

Still, this all begs my previous question:
Why would anyone mix the likes of LM741,
TL071 and a 12AX7 TUBE and call it an
audiophile component?!!

Would you enlighten us (no pun intended)
as to what the make/model is of this
player?

Re: Are they serious?

I saw a REAL product schematic recently (I wish I could remember what product, it obviously didn't impress me :) ) that used a LM741 as a DC servo.
I agree about lack of credibility; good suggestion - time for a shopping trip.
With the SACD wave starting, shouldn't the great red book only players start appearing at fire sales now? I've got my eyes on some old tanks that I can drop a new DAC board in.

mlloyd1

BrianL said: