Transistor help (2SC9012)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm having trouble finding an equivalent for a 2SC9012 and 2SC9013. The closest I can get is a BC327 and BC337 respectively.

I'm just a beginner, and I'm not confident I'm reading the data sheets correctly. Would the BC327/337 be a suitable replacement for a 9012/9013 respectively?

Thanks in advance.

Joined 2010
Paid Member
I think that part number is wrong or a wild guess often repeated by parts sellers and users. I don't believe there is such a transistor as 2SC9012 (sic) etc. The original part numbers are most likely S9012,3 and are in a series of similar "S" numbered low cost parts made originally by Fairchild/National Semiconductor in Malaysia for use in plastic case boom boxes and similar everyday consumer gear of the eighties. You'll now find them cheap and plentiful on Ebay but you don't often find them in distributors catalogues because there are so many unlicensed manufacturers of these frequently copied components.

You can Google datasheets from quite a number of suppliers and this example applies to a more reliable US source but I can't say it applies to any others you may find on Ebay. For example:
https://www.digchip.com/datasheets/parts/datasheet/284/S9012-pdf.php
https://www.onsemi.com/pub/Collateral/BC327-D.PDF

Simple checks of suitability are to look at:
Vceo - the allowable max. voltage between collector and emitter - Is it enough for your circuit? The BC327 is rated at 45V and should be fine since 9012 is only 25V.

Iceo - the maximum rated current - is listed 0.5A but BC327 is 0.8A so again, plenty of capability.