Rotary off-on switch for mains power? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th January 2016, 04:21 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Rotary off-on switch for mains power?

I am building an amp and like the symmetry of having the volume knob on one end of the amp, and hoping to use a rotary switch for turning the amp off and on, on the other end. I have no experience with rotary switches, and was curious if any 2 pole, 2 position switch with a proper voltage rating would be suitable to this application? I was also curious if there are any disadvantages or risks in using a rotary switch for mains power? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Old 25th January 2016, 04:45 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Skype™ to JonSnell Electronic
Nowadays you will be hard pushed to purchase switches like the old TV switches.
Plenty of industrial types; Rotary Switches | RS Components
Old 25th January 2016, 04:52 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Rotary switches are usually not specified for mains power, unless you use an industrial device. Or use a power relay... and protect the contacts of the rotary switch with VDR or correct RC network.
Old 25th January 2016, 04:52 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but is there any reason an industrial switched would not be suited for home use, or audio application?
Old 25th January 2016, 04:55 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

What about HS13X NKK Switches | Mouser
Old 25th January 2016, 05:09 PM   #6
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator