fixed reg lm7915

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
im having prob's with a diy power supply. Its a split rail 15 0 15 well it should be. Input to the 7915 is 30v output is 21.7 v:confused:
Iv'e even used the suggested circuit as per nat sems web site, as the regs are a few inches away from the filter caps.

regvprobs

Now explain this ?
the pos reg works fine 14.89v, changed the neg reg twice and still the same happens..21.7v:confused:
Im now thinking that it could be the transformer/rectifier, as ive got a dual secondary and iv'e tied two legs to ground.
Just so you know im a qualified electrician, so you can leave out the basic's if you get my drift.
What i may do but three week old Harry is taking our my sunday,
is to use two rectifer's instead of one.

The 40V rating of the capacitor has nothing with this to do but I'm not explaining why since you told us to leave out the basics. :clown:

If you are using the TO220 version of the regulators, make sure the 7915 mounting tab is not grounded, it's connected to the output (middle pin).

Other things to try, connect small 1 to 10 uF capacitors as close as possible to the input and output of the 7915. Negative regulators are more prone to oscillate.

Yes, centre pin is output on these, not ground.

If you are using the TO220 version of the regulators, make sure the 7915 mounting tab is not grounded, it's connected to the output (middle pin).

I attached a picture that shows the middlepin as being the input. Pin 1 is ground and pin 3 is output.

Attachments

• negative power regulator.jpg
    negative power regulator.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 280
faulty tx

Thanks for the images, iv'e got them written down in one of my books anyway.