|
|
|||||||
| Home | Forums | Rules | Articles | Store | Gallery | Blogs | Register | Donations | FAQ | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read | Search |
| Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc. |
|
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.
Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving |
|
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
|
Hi
Has anyone used www.cattylink.com ? They sell Chines hi-fi (shengya, shanling, opera etc) at amazing prices, but can this kind of firm be trusted? Opinions, experiences etc wanted! Links to other Hong Kong based firms wanted Cheers ~madsun |
|
|
#2 |
|
diyAudio Member
|
My only comments is that they are able to make some amazing and good looking stuff over there like Classic
__________________
Free Schematic and Service Manual downloads www.audio-circuit.dk, Company: www.dupont-audio.com, Joint venture: www.DupontMantra.com |
|
|
#3 |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
|
hehe, thats true
|
|
|
#4 |
|
diyAudio Member
|
Hi
I've mailed them about confidence and got this in the answer: REGARDING THE MATTER OF CONFIDENCE, WE ARE A FORMAL COMPANY SET UP IN THE LEGAL WAY AND NOT JUST A WEB SITE WITHOUT GUARANTEE. IN ADDITION, WE ARE INVITED TO JOIN THE FAMOUS “FEDERATION OF HONG KONG INDUSTRIES”. WE THINK THAT THIS MAY CONFER HIGHER CONFIDENCE ON YOU. I'm also thinking about buying some electronics from them, but knowing that it is a serious firm would be nice.. Anyone ever ordered something from them? |
|
|
#5 |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: dry ol Melbourne Australia
|
Did you get anything?
Was it ok (I'm going to HK soon)? Lots of great gear there alright! |
|
|
#6 | |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
|
Quote:
I found a website called Ornec (www.ornec.com) They also sell at good pricing, but as everybody wants to know... ...are the trustworthy! I thought I would best found out by ordering a pair of cheap 29 pounds sterling interconnects. When I ordered those, they said they are sold out (although they are still on the webpage) By now I ordered a hifi-rack and I am in the waiting period......... You all will here from me when it arrives. greetings, Henry
__________________
Henry |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
|
Hello to you all!!! I have some sad sad news. Both Cayin and Shanling state on their own website that every sale on the internet from their brands is FAKE or OUTDATED and WITHOUT WARRANTY!!! By this statements it is obvious that we are NOT to buy ANYTHING at websites such as CATTYLINK, nor ORNEC!!! BE WARNED!!! Henry
__________________
Henry |
|
|
#8 |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: dry ol Melbourne Australia
|
Henry
Hopefully you won’t need a on a warranty claim on a hifi-rack! I haven’t yet seen the warranty disclaimer – do you have a link? The prices are in GBP (& one phone no) – it appears the business is not in HK, but UK ? Cheers |
|
|
#9 |
|
diyAudio Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford
|
Henry van der B his is EMMA from Ornec please do not worry Ornec.com is part of the Knoxed Group that is registered in United Kingdom. As for the Cable yes there was a problem, we realized that the item was not in stock and selling a cable and sending it from china using DHL for 29GBP was not worth it so we changed the minimum order for free shipping to 49.99 GBP. As for the warranty and fake items, that's all crap I mean shanling and cayin have done this so hi fi fans do not purchase item from China. So you should pay premium price for the items. We do provide Warranty but item needs to be sent back to china so the warranty can be covered. Some times that's not economical. remember are prices are 1/3 or 1/2 or the retail prices. As for the prices in GBP that's only for small orders. When you want to have a group buy the prices will change drastically. Remember Final price equals cost of goods + shipping. Many companies give you low prices for the goods and charge you double for shipping. Recently we secured a group buy from the french that surely says a lot about us. Please if you have any problem let us know.
|
|
|
#10 |
|
diyAudio Editor
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Francisco, USA
|
I don't know much about this stuff, but it is well known that many brand names are merely added to existing products from China. So it is very possible that you can get the same product for a lot less in China without the brand name.
As far as products with a known brand name- these are sometimes not supported by that brand if they can be determined to be imported through alternate channels. The problem is that the official importer has the costs of establishing his name through hiring reps, and advertising, and also the responsibility of servicing any warrantee on the item. It is unfair to expect the importer, who is probably not part of the manufacturing company, to support items that he has made no profit on. In this case your only warrantee would be whatever the company in China that sold it to you will give.. |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
|
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| DIY supply shops in Hong Kong and Singapore | Dennis Hui | Parts | 9 | 23rd August 2010 08:25 PM |
| Anywhere in Hong Kong... | nickds1 | Tubes / Valves | 25 | 23rd September 2007 01:15 PM |
| Hello from Hong Kong. | martinlo | Introductions | 9 | 20th April 2005 12:30 PM |
| Has anyone tried these pots from Hong Kong? | Bill Fitzpatrick | Parts | 2 | 1st March 2005 07:02 PM |
| Hello from Hong Kong | Brian Cherry | Introductions | 5 | 5th June 2002 03:06 AM |
| New To Site? | Need Help? |
| Page generated in 0.11243 seconds (80.37% PHP - 19.63% MySQL) with 10 queries |