Beginner questions on crossover budget - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st October 2013, 08:51 PM   #1
cjv998 is offline cjv998  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to cjv998
Default Beginner questions on crossover budget

Hi everyone. As the title indicates, I'm new to DIY audio. (Well, I've looked at it occasionally and built a gainclone amp a few years ago, but I'm finally ready to dive in.)

So, I'm curious how much everyone spends on their passive crossovers. I'm used to buying cheap low-power parts from Digikey for electronics, so you can imagine my reaction when I saw you can spend upwards of $40 on one capacitor for audio use. I vaguely recall reading a "rule of thumb" somewhere that suggested spending half as much on crossover components as you spend on the drivers. Does that sound about right? At what point would you consider "stepping up" to higher-quality crossover components on a design? (I'm sure the answer to my question is on the forums here somewhere, but I didn't have any luck finding it.)

Also, what about using higher-quality passive components in an amplifier design? Do you actually hear a difference there? (I guess it depends on where in the circuit the components are used.)

If it matters, I'm looking at designing a ported 2-way bookshelf speaker; probably using the one of Vifa's ring radiator tweeters and a 6.5" midrange driver, and I would probably set the crossover around 2.5 kHz.

Thanks for the replies!

Last edited by cjv998; 1st October 2013 at 08:54 PM.
Old 1st October 2013, 09:19 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

Anyone who spends a lot spends too much.