Battery charging

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I probably count myself as 1 step up from total novice, but I am a noob to these forums, so be gentle!

I'm looking to build a boombox, (I know... How original! :)) but I really want the power to work in a specific way. I've picked out an amp (a T2020 type thing) and what I think is a suitable battery (12v, 7Ah), and I'm happy and confident to connect it all up and make it work.

BUT, I also want my boombox to work from the mains, in much the same way a laptop does. (When it's not plugged in, it's powered from the battery. When it is plugged it works from the mains AND the battery is charging. And I want this to happen automatically, like it does in a laptop or a phone or whatever. No fiddling with charger terminals, no flicking of switches.) I've scratched my head until there's barely anything left there!! Help me please!

(Or just tell me it's a pipe dream and completely impossible!)

Thanks,
Jon

Please don't use these as finished circuits, more as ideas how to achieve what you are proposing.

Just looking at the second schematic.

The transformer is chosen to give Vrect at about the 20V mark, so a 15V transformer will do.

Cc is a constant current regulator like the LM317, set up to charge the battery iaw its manufacturers recommendations.

Vreg is set to 12V to power the amp when mains is available.

The diodes steer the DC so that the battery is not discharged when mains is available and the one across the Vreg protects the regulator when the battery voltage exceeds the output voltage of the regulator.

This is only really suited for Lead Acid batteries which can float charge at full charging current. For any other technology the Cc reg will need to be replaced with an appropriate charging circuit.

Attachments

• 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    121.7 KB · Views: 158
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member