Show me your cool switches!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Gang,

I am starting the design process for my new amp and I am looking for a nice power switch to use. I had my heart set on using one of those pictured in this thread, but I have spoken with Hugh Dean of Aksa fame and he says I need a switch with a 10A/120VAC rating, whereas those switches are 50mA/24v :(
I'm sure you guys have run across some neat switches that qualify so I'm hoping you can give me some recommendations, with or without leds. Thanks!

George

Now we're talking! I must confess though, since I am an electronics novice, I'm not familiar with the relay concept. I tried a search on google and got many hits but no explanations. Does it simply tie it to another switch with a more appropriate rating? I would appreciate if someone could explain the concept to me. Thanks,

George

Yes, the switch just supplies enough current to energise an electro-magnet within the relay which then pulls a pair of contacts together to switch the much larger current.

If you use a relay you will also require a permanent supply to energise the relay when the amp is "off" but a tiny transformer mounted on the same board as the relay and permantly connected to the mains will suffice.

Thanks Richard,

I have done some more searching and I came up with a couple threads talking about power relays. It looks like I can use one of the lighted switches I wanted to without a seperate transformer, if I pick this up:

"...I ended up buying a Potter & Brumfield (of Tyco Electronics) bistable impulse relay:
Spec sheet:
http://www.pandbrelays.com/datashee...ys/S8990_DS.pdf
You can figure out what part number you need at the bottom of the first page of the spec sheet. I ended up going with the 120VAC operated version (for use in the USA) with 20A contacts bought for about $35 from here:
http://www.mouser.com//index.cfm?ha...roductid=341943