soundstream rubicon 1.1600d transistors??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have blown output transistors and possibly the inputs too. I was wondering if anyone could suggest to me what to replace them with soundstream wont release any specs on the original ones im a noob at this its my first repair haha the output transistors are irf p849d

Last edited:
Having private label transistors is one of the tricks of the trade to force you to take your unit to an authorized service shop that pays the manufacturer. the numbers you have probably mean about nothing unless you have a cross sheet for soundstream. The only company I know that gives away the cross sheet is Peavey, that is why I buy their old broken stuff.
If you have a schematic diagram and can determine if they are FET's or BJT's, good. If not, see if any survived and see if the base lead or gate lead has a .6 v junction to the E or C, or is open. Use a humidifier to avoid static blow up if it is a fet. The gate or base lead is the one that leads back to the to220 driver transistors or the driver IC. A fet will have an open gate unless it has a zener gate protection diode.