Ferrite cores for 80-110mhz VHF transformers? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd October 2012, 09:03 AM   #1
bigwill is offline bigwill  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Ferrite cores for 80-110mhz VHF transformers?

I am a complete novice with VHF circuitry, it's all a bit mysterious, and sadly beyond the limits of my oscilloscope!

I've been experimenting with little FM transmitter bugs, which is fun - and I've been wanting to increase the power of my circuits. So far I've built what everyone else has probably built at some point - the one transistor VHF oscillator with a 2n3904 or similar, consisting of a tank circuit in the collector and a small capacitor between the collector and emitter for positive feedback for oscillation. Audio is fed to the base which modulates the operating point / transistor capacitance to produce FM.

The output of this oscillator is obviously high impedance and the base of a bigger RF transistor at 100Mhz is probably fairly low - transformer coupling would work well here. I'm also interested in transformer coupling the output stage to the antenna.

I'm probably going about this completely the wrong way, but where on earth do you get ferrite cores or rods suitable for this band?? I know they exist but I can't seem to find anything from the typical outlets, most of the ferrite products are listed for RFI supression, and I have no idea how that correlates with their usefulness as a transformer core. I'm guessing most of these materials will result in a uselessly low Q.

I'd happily wind an air-core transformer but I can't seem to find anything about this either!
Old 22nd October 2012, 11:23 AM   #2
DUG is offline DUG  Canada
diyAudio Member