Transformer for 200KHz - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd April 2012, 09:04 PM   #1
akis is offline akis  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Transformer for 200KHz

Hello, I have little knowledge of transformers.

I am looking to use a transformer to amplify a voltage of 1V-3V rms at 200KHz to something like 30V rms at 200KHz. Current consumption expected to be approx 100mA - 300mA.

I am not sure what type of transformer to use, how many turns on the primary/secondary and what diameter wires .

Any help appreciated.
Old 22nd April 2012, 11:27 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Is that 100mA - 300mA on the 1V-3V rms side of the transformer or on the 30V rms side?
Old 23rd April 2012, 05:51 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

It is 100mA-300mA on the 30V RMS side.
Old 23rd April 2012, 06:17 AM   #4
jcx is offline jcx  United States
diyAudio Member

bandwidth is often limiting - how fast/much does the signal change in amplitude, frequency

isolation is another critical parameter - how much pri-sec V do you have to withstand, any safety requirements, any pri-sec leakge current, max parasitic C?
Old 23rd April 2012, 06:25 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

I was looking for basic design/shopping options - eg iron core or air core, toroidal or E shape (I am not sure about the names) etc.

Bandwidth - frequency will be fixed at 200KHz. Amplitude will also be fixed at the appropriate level. Isolation not necessary as the primary will be in the order of a few Volts and the secondary again a few tens of Volts. I am not sure about the rest of the parameters, eg leakage currents and paracitic capacitances.
Old 23rd April 2012, 07:05 AM   #6
diyAudio Member