Fake or genuine 2SA1216 to x-ray or not - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th March 2012, 03:39 PM   #1
405man is offline 405man  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Default Fake or genuine 2SA1216 to x-ray or not

I have some 2SA1216 / 2SC2922 and I can not decide if they are genuine or not, I have the opertunity to have them x-rayed as my wife is a radiographer, is this likely to damage the device, should I short the legs together or leave them open

Stuart
Old 29th March 2012, 04:18 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to DigitalJunkie
They may end up damaged either way. Got a couple that you can spare?
Old 29th March 2012, 04:27 PM   #3
PChi is offline PChi  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

I'm no expert but I have viewed Cellular phone PCBs mainly to check for correct BGA placement in an X ray machine (unfortunately I don't know the X ray level used) and no damage was done. It wasn't easy to spot anything useful though even with the board mounted so that it could be moved using a joy stick while being viewed in real time on a monitor.
Old 29th March 2012, 04:36 PM   #4
gmarsh is offline gmarsh  Canada
diyAudio Member

They'll be fine to x-ray, leads shorted or not.

Lots of electronics are x-rayed after manufacture to check for things like BGA alignment (as PCHi mentioned), and airline baggage also gets X-rayed without any damage to electronics inside.
Old 29th March 2012, 04:50 PM   #5
KBK is offline KBK  Canada
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 405man View Post