Proper Grounding Scheme

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Paul, I got in real trouble last time i mentioned to use a 2 prong instead of 3 prong plug. One of the moderators didn't like it....even though most commercial equipment today has a 2 prong plug, that equipment (hopefully) has been thoroughly tested to pass UI? specs. If something goes wrong, you definitely want the case grounded to main earth. Whether or not your power supply ground is connected to case...I don't know whats best. I'm still learning. BE CAREFUL. Later!

-Matthew K. Olson

Mattyo5 said:
Paul, I got in real trouble last time i mentioned to use a 2 prong instead of 3 prong plug. One of the moderators didn't like it....even though most commercial equipment today has a 2 prong plug, that equipment (hopefully) has been thoroughly tested to pass UI? specs. If something goes wrong, you definitely want the case grounded to main earth. Whether or not your power supply ground is connected to case...I don't know whats best. I'm still learning. BE CAREFUL. Later!

-Matthew K. Olson

Hi Matthew,

The moderators are not being ninnies about this.

The point of the 3rd prong is to provide a return path to force the mains circuit breaker to trip in the event of a wiring fault or malfunction that puts mains voltage on the enclosure. Without that 3rd prong, a metal enclosure with mains AC in it is an electrocution waiting to happen. Vintage tube guitar amps often lack this 3rd ground prong and they end up zapping a musician every so often. http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=guitar+amp+electrocution

Modern, commercially made equipment with 2 prong line cords either uses an external power supply (that is double insulated), have a plastic case to prevent finger contact with energized metal or are internally double insulated (like a hand power tool).