Bad resistors - how common? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st January 2012, 05:14 AM   #1
stewj is offline stewj  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Bad resistors - how common?

I'm a relative beginner using 2 10k resistors from RadioShack (271-1126) in my chip amp and getting pretty bad distortion through one channel. The problem - one of them measures .9K ohms. They are both marked correctly (brown-black-orange), both gold band, one measures 10K, the other .9K. What gives - is this common? Should I measure them all before installing?
Old 31st January 2012, 05:55 AM   #2
kaos is offline kaos  United States
diyAudio Member

Mislabeled resistors happen sometimes. When itís really bad is when they put the stripe on the wrong end of rectifiers.
Old 31st January 2012, 06:24 AM   #3
anatech is offline anatech  Canada
diyAudio Moderator

Hi stewj,
It can happen, depending on where the parts come from. The quality of the resistor also can matter. You can even have manufacturing defects like poor end cap contact(s).
Quote:
Should I measure them all before installing?
Sure, yes. I would recommend that, especially if you aren't that skilled in fault locating. I measure almost every resistor I use, and most capacitors. I buy from approved distributors as well.

Components are variable in performance. It's easier to find them before installing them in a circuit.

-Chris
Old 31st January 2012, 08:14 AM   #4
Enzo is offline Enzo  United States
diyAudio Member