OT: Noob needs help with voltage divider basics - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th August 2011, 11:25 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default OT: Noob needs help with voltage divider basics

OK, here we go!
Total noob here, and I'm trying to teach myself electronics 101. It's overwhelming, btw.

I'm trying to make an analogue voltmeter (of sorts) from a few LEDs and resistors. I'm actually building this to monitor my e-cigarette voltage. I got it from this thread, but know you all over here are pretty sharp at these sorts of things.

Long story short, every LED has a turn on voltage, and you can exploit that by setting up a voltage divider to create steps, causing the LED's to turn off at certain voltages.

I know the formula for a simple divider is Vin=((R2)/(R1+R2))*Vout
But figuring out what value resistors I need is just kicking my ace. I understand the principle, but don't know how to figure out the specifics.

My schema is attached, and here is some data on the LED's
(I measured a cut on of 2.7v @ 31uA)
Size (mm) : 3mm
Peak Wave Length (nm) : 395 ~ 405
Forward Voltage (V) : 3.2 ~ 3.8
Reverse Current (uA) : <= 30
Luminous Intensity Typ Iv (mcd) : 3000(Typical) ~ 5000(Max)
Max Power Dissipation(PM): 80mW
Max Peak Forward Current(IFP): 75mA
Max Continuous Forward Current(IFM): 20mA

Thanks, ya'll!
Attached Images
File Type: gif led voltage devider.GIF (4.2 KB, 70 views)
Old 4th August 2011, 11:32 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Look up bargraph driver IC's.
You should be able to scale the input to suit your application.
Old 4th August 2011, 11:39 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I know it can be done without using an IC, and the fact I can't figure it (voltage devider calculations) out is just ******* me off.