Need opinions for a TA2020 multimedia build.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First off, I'd like to say hello to the diyaudio forum - as this is my first post.

Building a desktop 2.1 system basically because store bought computer speakers suck. Plus mine are pretty old and crappy and do not compliment my x-fi audio card very well.

I'm looking to build a system that just reproduces my PC's output as well as possible without lacking the frequency range that usually plague computer speakers. I play a lot of movies, games and music. Also trying to do this for the least amount of money possible. I already have an overabundance of passive components as I'm a computer engineer by trade plus there's my hobbies...

So far:
Power supply - Looking to use a 30V 350W switching supply that I already have. It is meant for powering small servo motor drivers in bench-top cnc engraving machines (which also require a very clean supply for cutting accuracy). I know the 350W is overkill for this board, but the supply contains current limiting and short circuit protection; as such, will only output what the load can handle (Also adding an in-line fuse just in-case).

Amp - 2 TA2020 boards from ebay (the functional boards are cheaper than having a pcb made and I hate using breadboards for a finished project); one board will be for the left+right speakers, the other will have both channels combined to drive a woofer/subwoofer.

Volume control - Most likely just a digital pot with a r-encoder as I have the parts on hand.

Active crossover - Dual, home built, 3-way Linkwitz-Riley design, op-amp crossover. High and mid will be sent to the L&R amp, low sent to the sub amp. The L&R speaker boxes will contain a passive crossover to divide between my midranges and tweeters.