power chord with or without shield - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th August 2003, 04:37 PM   #1
Kal is offline Kal  Germany
diyAudio Member

Default power chord with or without shield

Hello,

as a DIY newbie, I would like to start my DIY-career with something easy such as a power chord.
Are their any new ideas/designs except for the ones found on tnt-audio?
What is important? A high capacitance?
Is a shield really that important, since I heard that a shield slowers the sound?
Thanx
Old 31st August 2003, 08:30 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

You'll find that there is no such thing as a good power cable. The notion that one power cable can sound better than another has precisely no scientific background and is a prime example of the trash that so-called audiophiles spread around. By far the most important aspect of a power cable is its total resistance. Keep this as low as possible by using thick conductors (at least 12awg, thicker for high-powered equipment). Of course, once its resistance becomes equal to that of the rest of the wiring in your home and all the way to your power utility substation, decreasing it further gives no gain.
Ferrite rings wrapped around the cable have a way of removing HF interference from mains lines, but any well-designed piece of equipment will have an equally, if not more effective way of rejecting it.
Keep it thick, and make it look pretty, but don't be fooled into thinking that it will make your system sound better.
Old 31st August 2003, 09:13 PM   #3
diyAudio Moderator

Default Re: power chord with or without shield

Quote:
Originally posted by Kal
What is important?
Hi Kal