Help - component ID and suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Our school has had a whole load of electronic components donated, but I'm not sure what all of them are...or what we could use them for. I'm a Chemist, so I only understand electronics in terms of electrons moving through wires!

I would like to encourage students to start making their own electronic devices (e.g. headphone amps, or guitar pedals etc.) and I was wondering if there is anything we could make from these types of components.

Here are a couple of general shots to show what we have. If anyone is willing to help, then I could post more detailed photos. There are a whole load of exciting looking capacitors (sprague and GEC polymer film), resistors, relays, pots etc.

P1010498.jpg

P1010498.jpg

P1010499.jpg

and then loads of ICs that I have no idea what they do

P1010500.jpg

Here's an example, but there are lots of different types

P1010501.jpg

Mods - If this is not an appropriate post for this forum, then please feel free to move or delete it.

Hi,

It very much depends on what chips you have, they could be logic chips,
not analogue. If they are cmos that is not the way to handle them.

In the same vein much of the larger capacitors you seem to have would
suit higher power circuitry than typical op-amp type circuits, and for
these you would need suitable transformers, casework, heatsinks etc.

Thats not mentioning regarding the mains you need to know your onions.

rgds, sreten.

Thanks for your reply. I guessed the big capacitors wouldn't be very useful (though we can use them for lab demos). I have a feeling that the chips are something to do with logic gates, there was this note with some of them:

P1010502.jpg

P1010503.jpg

Could we set up demo logic gates with these? They are a part of the GCSE syllabus.

Hi,

TBH you'd be far better off using a free circuit simulator such as TinaTi