Blue 9643X dual pot ??? quality replacment ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a volume imbalance on my pre amp which seems to be getting worse, guess the volume pot is the prime candidate ...... does any one recognise this part

blue board mounted dual channel pot with the following numbers written on the side ?

01A2AB28D1515
10K 10K
Mexixo 9643X

If so any suggestions for a quality drop in replacment?

also the boards have a lot of TL072CN op amp, these must be 10+ years old now and better quality alternatives recomended?

Many thanks for nay help or suggestions
( ps I am not technically knowledgable so please keep it simple)

Ian

I am a volume imbalance on my pre amp which seems to be getting worse, guess the volume pot is the prime candidate ...... does any one recognise this part

blue board mounted dual channel pot with the following numbers written on the side ?

01A2AB28D1515
10K 10K
Mexixo 9643X

If so any suggestions for a quality drop in replacment?

also the boards have a lot of TL072CN op amp, these must be 10+ years old now and better quality alternatives recomended?

Many thanks for nay help or suggestions
( ps I am not technically knowledgable so please keep it simple)

Bourns pots, as they seem to be, are good pots.

Abut the TLO72CN, it's difficult to suggest anything without having a look at the schematic. Do you have it?

Those chips are from the '70s, and there are better options now, but it will depend on the specific application. Several discrete parts around them, like capacitors and resistors might have to be upgraded too with better chips.

In fact I'd start an upgrade improving the power supply and eliminating all electrolytic and ceramic capacitors from the signal path. Then go for a chip upgrade.

Carlos

Hi Carlos,