Vishay Roederstein MKP1840 & MKP1837

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

Please beware i'm a DIY novice and electronic knowledge is limited but thanks to this great forum i'm learning alot.

Despite numerous searches I can't find an answer to what is probably a simple question...

Why is the Vishay Roederstein MKP1837 so much more expensive than the MKP1840 (which people here seem to go mad over and spend lot's of £'s on)?

I've studied the datasheets here:

http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/415372.pdf
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/391374.pdf

Everything seems the same spec/material wise - just the size and voltage difference... DF and pulse rise times etc... are all the same... the frequency graphs in the datasheets are on different scales but the results look the same though I don't understand them - maybe the answer lies there...

These are to be used to parallel with some electrolytics both on input and output and also on coupling electrolytics between internal circuits of a mixer.

Would the inexpensive 10nf MKP1840 400v (space is not an issue) provide the desired effect...is there any problem with using the high voltage rating?

Sorry to post this just asking so many questions - I usually search and find the answers but this is driving me crazy after so much searching.

Any help would be appreciated.

They are both similar polypropylene dielectric boxed caps, I find a cost difference is tolerance (i.e. 2.5% vs 20%) and the size. What values are you comparing?

I have capped a few studio mixing consoles and the main thing is your budget and time. Each strip can have a dozen caps and it adds up quickly... easily 200+ caps on a mixer!
I use MKP's for the EQ but MKT's otherwise, as polypropylene is pretty big and expensive. Especially when 63V parts are enough.

I think 0.01uF is too small, I would use 0.22uF to 1uF at least.