Read/Writing to a FRAM

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I'm working on a digital control system to work with amplifiers and I need to read and write to a FRAM chip using a microcontroller. I'm new to the world of writing to memory devices so I'm not to sure how to structure it in C.

The datasheet is here:
www.ramtron.com/files/datasheets/FM22L16ds_r1.2.pdf

Now for the reading I can see that there is a data holding time and data accessing time when the address is changed, meaning this can easily be set up with delays.

but the writing process can not be controlled solely by changing address (while holding WE and CE down)?

From this I take it that the easiest way to write to these devices is to toggle the WE pin after the address has been selected.

Thanks for the help

but the writing process can not be controlled solely by changing address (while holding WE and CE down)?

It does seem to suggest that you can write by just changing address on the first page, but this may just be the column address A1:0.

You can see the write cycle timing on page 11 of the datasheet, and on page 4, 'Writes occur in the FM22L16 in the same time interval as reads. The FM22L16 supports both /CE- and /WE-controlled write cycles. In both cases, the address A(17:2) is latched on the falling edge of /CE.'

You just need to read the datasheet in detail. It's got a paging address system, addresses A17:2 are latched and A1:0 select one of 4 bytes for fast access. There are also upper (/UB) and lower (/LB) byte enables.

It's probably best to write that bit of the code in inline assembler to guarantee the timing. Otherwise you want to be able to examine the assembly language before it goes to the linker, or whatever, depending on the workflow of the particular compiler and device.