Impedance EQ parts? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th January 2011, 06:02 PM   #1
8675309 is offline 8675309  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Impedance EQ parts?

I spent a couple of hours searching the net and this site for my answer. I tend to use cheap parts for my crossover design and testing. I then use higher quality parts for the final build. My question is this; does it matter on the part quality of an impedance EQ? I have been working on an impedance eq that has been pricey using cheaper parts. Will I benefit by upgrading to higher quality parts?

For example going from a cheaper non polarized cap to say a polypropylene cap? And so on with the inductors and resistors. I am still new to impedance eqs, but I am trying to learn by experimenting with different things.

The impedance filter has been designed for a full range driver paired with a supper tweeter; is this a good idea? If not please help me understand why this is not a good idea.

Thanks
Old 8th January 2011, 12:21 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I believe you mean "passive crossover" and, yes the quality of the parts matter.
In these types of x-over only use non-polorized capacitors. Inductors should be air-core only as any metallic core will saturate (at higher audio levels) and therefore distort the sound.
I have not tried it, but I think that you could do a good simulation of a x-over in LT-Spice
E
Old 8th January 2011, 01:54 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

No not passive only