Is this tube suitable for audio? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st August 2010, 04:25 AM   #1
domm123 is offline domm123  Singapore
diyAudio Member

Default Is this tube suitable for audio?

Hi all,

I have built several solid state amp before, and I am still new to Tubes amp.

I am think of building a tube amp, possibly YAHA or something similar.

I search ebay for 6922 tubes and came across this tube:
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/2-x-6N1P-VI-E...Electronics_R2

They are cheap!! Just wonder if this tubes will suite my needs?

Thanks
Old 31st August 2010, 04:34 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Good tubes.
Old 31st August 2010, 04:55 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

These are a medium-mu twin triode with a 9AJ basing, maximum plate voltage of 130V (kinda low), cathode current of 25mA, plate dissipation of 1.8 watts. Similar to a 12au7 except for the low plate voltage.

Dave
Old 31st August 2010, 09:02 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hi, thanks for the responses!

Hmm... 130v plate voltage? this one advertise as max 250v... btw, can i know the max voltage stated on the vacuum datasheet is RMS volatge or Peak volatge?

And how do i determine whether a 6n1p tube is good enough for audio?

Ok, so i decided to start on this project, the voltage between the plate is about 22v, so it should be safe right?.. Can i know is there anything i need to change in the circuit to swap out the 6922 for 6n1p?

Thanks
Old 31st August 2010, 10:17 AM   #5
piano3 is offline piano3  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

These tubes with the "VI" suffix are for pulse radar. You may be better going for "EV" suffix type which are commonly sold on ebay. I suggest you ask member Wavebourne if the pulse varient is fine-he is an expert on these things.