What is the correct Black Gate value to use? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st June 2003, 05:11 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to dom letor
Question What is the correct Black Gate value to use?

Hello, I'm pretty new to this idea of modifying speaker crossovers but I don't know which caps I should use. I heard Black Gates are pretty good but they don't make the exact values that my crossovers use. I have a stock 10uF 100V cap and a 8uF 100V cap (I'd have to buy 4 for biwire), but the only Black Gate AC that comes close to this is a 10uF 50V. Would it be possible to use this cap without any problems? Should I try non-AC BG caps to make this fit?

Thanks
Old 21st June 2003, 01:50 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
It shouldn't be a problem using that cap (I guess you mean lower voltage), as the AC Non-Polar caps for speakers are made only in 50V . The other one that comes close to 8u is 6.8u from BG. It also depends where the caps are located in a crossovers. Sometimes slightly different value doesn't affect response that much, sometimes it does.
“Do something really well. See how much time it takes. It might be a product, a work of art, who knows? Then give it away cheaply, just because you feel that it should not cost so much, even if it took a lot of time and expensive materials to make it.” - JC
Old 21st June 2003, 02:39 PM   #3
grataku is offline grataku  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: What is the correct Black Gate value to use?

Quote:
Originally posted by dom letor