Recapping a Perreaux 1150B amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Anyone here ever recapped a Perreaux 1150B 100wpc amp? I have very low bass output in one channel and a number of small metal can caps w/ axial leads (polarized) appear to be leaking a dry waxy substance...Time for recapping? 1150B is 20+ years old and I imagine bad caps are the culprit. Does anyone know what kind of replacements I should use? Besides the old West German little cans, WIMAs and some banded,color-coded (poss ceramic?) caps are also used throughout the circuits. One last question: Should I try to also replace the two big 18000mfd power supply caps or wait until doing all the small ones first? All replies will be greatly appreciated! ---Jeff in Hawaii

Just Do It.

Hi Jeff, I have plenty of experience with high power pro Perreaux amps - 6000B, 8000B etc.
At 20 years old, just replace all the caps regardless, excepting the 18,000 uF resevoir caps - these are maybe duff, but are very likely fine.
The other fault with Perreauxs in my experience is that the joints are soldered, and then the leads cut, and the flux is left on the board - this is all bad news for long term reliability.
My standard procedure is to clean the pcb's, replace all the caps, blanket resolder the pcbs, and then clean them again.
I have had very good sonic sucesses with these Hitano EXR low esr caps, and they are cheap.
Take care with bias current on initial start-up (use a variac) and you should have a brand new amp again.
Once this job is done correctly your amp should sound as good as it can, and it should never let you down.

Eric.

OK, Eric, thanks for your reply. I'll try the Hitanos for replacing all the 10-100uF electrolytics as you suggest. As for the smaller .1uF WIMAS I'll go with some sort of good quality polypropylenes.
Sorry if this is a bother but I still have a few more questions: