device for 40 line outs on the mac?? do it yourself solutions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hoi

i,m new in this forum and looking for some help with a artproject i,m busy with. I need a cheap device, solution which makes 40 analog line outs on the mac, so that i can play 40 channels from a software programm simultaneous (cubase,..) to the seperate line outs. Doesn,t has to be high end. i don`t need a complete mixer just the line outs. The solution with stacking firewire cards together is to expensive, it also seems that i can just create 24 channels by this way. Has somebody experience with this kind of things. Do it yourself solutions are welcome.

regards

Hi,

The fairly obvious question is why ?
You have 40 channels of power amplification and 40 loudspeakers ?
If not use Cubase for what it is also intended for - mixing.

I'm no expert of PC hardware but do you really need
more channels than say a 7.1 soundcard provides ?

:)/sreten.

birdhouse_1000 said:
hoi

i,m new in this forum and looking for some help with a artproject i,m busy with. I need a cheap device, solution which makes 40 analog line outs on the mac, so that i can play 40 channels from a software programm simultaneous (cubase,..) to the seperate line outs. Doesn,t has to be high end. i don`t need a complete mixer just the line outs. The solution with stacking firewire cards together is to expensive, it also seems that i can just create 24 channels by this way. Has somebody experience with this kind of things. Do it yourself solutions are welcome.

regards

I had this precise job recently 68 different channels of audio (classic stuff-"We shall fight them on the beaches", "I did not have sex with that woman" etc etc) and what I ended up with was the guts of 34 Chinese i-Pods (chipods?) on continuous repeat - worked a treat and client was more than happy. It's not elegant but this is what it looked like....