Please help me begin my knowlege quest!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Happy Christmas everyone!

Background
info about the project I am about to embark on

I failed to persuade anyone to buy me a new mastering console for my christmas present this year, and seeing as I can't afford one either, I had a Christmas revelation that I'd make the thing myself!!

I have limited electronic knowledge - this sounds foolish - but hold on.... I've been researching my needs for an analogue mastering console and have concluded that everything I need it for can be achieved using passive components - basically it's just signal path, resistors and switches for attenuation, stereo operations and routing.

Basically I want to make this:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Forget the meters for now as I will need to use some active components and am not there yet.

The most important part of this console is a high quality rotary switch based passive attenuator with 23 steps. I can get a high quality all in one kit from hifi collective (after much hunting around). I can get a balanced stereo kit which is great.

My problem
Looking at the very simple schematic of a passive shunt attenuator, there are switch selected resistors going to ground as expected, but there is a 10K MASTER resistor before the switch. What in the name of spongebob squarepants is this for? Why must I chuck away some of my audio signal's strength for seemingly no reason?

This for me is very much bewilderment at the very first hurdle and it sucks. I feel as though something "simple" like this could be found in page 2 of text book X. But for all my persistent searching, now and in the past, I just get more confused about electronics in general.