pcb layout for powering 24 THAT 1240 chips

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks,

I am building a 24 channel active summing bus with differential inputs using the THAT 1240 opamp chip as a balanced line input. This is my first time designing for a pcb (I'm using express pcb). I was hoping that some of you pcb vetrans could shed some light on designing.

The pcb itself is 3" x 12" and there are two rows of 12 chips. Each chip need a 18V bipolar DC supply as well as a signal ground and a "chassis" ground trace for the shields of the TRS input jacks.

I am unsure about the best way to supply the power. Should I run one main, wide trace/buss for all the 24 chips so should I run say, one buss for every four chips?

Each chip has a quiescient current draw of 2mA with max at 2.8mA.

Thanks in advance!

I have just been doing something very similar (A multichannel ADC in my case) using the 1203 as an input stage.

In my case I have just run the power buses below the chips down the back of the board and brought the power up via a couple of vias next to each chip, decoupling is on the component side obviously (This thing is heavy on the smt).

Assuming all the IO is balanced, you want the sleeve of those jacks connected as directly as possible to the case, using the sort of jack that has metal to metal contact with the mounting hole works well, and adding a common mode choke also helps matters.

I would advise reading AES-48 before even considering bringing the cable screen onto the PCB (sometimes you have no choice, but real care is advised).

That paper (Combined with the papers from Tony Waldron in the compliance journal) caused me a serious rethink on the right way to build balanced IO, and the results do now work MUCH better.

Regards, Dan.