OnSemi says they're already matched (MJ15022G/23G)... Do I believe them? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th August 2008, 07:56 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default OnSemi says they're already matched (MJ15022G/23G)... Do I believe them?

Preface: I'm an electrical engineer, but my specialty is digital electronics, not analog... (I never paid enough attention on small signal circuit design, etc.) So I'm hoping you guys can enlighten me a bit here... thanks in advance!

I have received some samples of OnSemi MJ15022G/23G power transistors, that I plan to use to refurb an old Audire Forte power amplifier ... and I have a few questions...

1) I asked the On Semi FAE about wanting to match these transistors (all the 22's have the same date code, and all the 23's have the same date code, but the 22's and 23's date codes are off by a few weeks), and he passed my question along and the factory came back with the following answer:

Quote:
The easy solution is to go for “Audio Transistors” to start with and MJ1500 falls into that category…
The tolerance on all our Audio Transistors are so close that there is no need to match Date Codes.
- Is this true?

2) If I did want to setup a test circuit to parameterize these guys to verify how well/poorly they matched one another... can anybody point me to some sample circuits to perform such parameterization (PNP and NPN circuits please) ?