Toroidal Transformer blowing fuses

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys, i have a Toroidal tranny which is 35v-35v. It is running on 240 volts, (UK). i am building an Amp, and only yesterday I wired it up, brown and blue, to a mains IEC socket, to do a test.

i wired the grey and violet wires together, left hanging, And i had two secondarys, black/red , orange/yellow, that were giving me both 35 volts.

Now when i do the test, it blows the fuse on the IEC socket to the mains. And I am guessing, as im rather new to electronics, that i should not cut the unused violet and grey wires ?

Would that be right?

As at the same length, yesterday, it was perefectly allright.

Any input would be appreciated

Hi Andrew

rating is 35 - 35volts, its a 5amp fuse to the 240volt plug, and the IEC sockets fuse is a fast blow, kind, that it not blowing at all, its the mains plug fuse.

and no, i have not built the lightbulb tester.

I purely was checking the 35v secondarys yesterday, i cut the 115 volt violet and grey wires down, soldered them together and today this happens.

thanks for the input

thankyou Andrew and Troy.

I have now resoldered the violet and grey wires to their original size, and its all working fine.

The transformer i have requires that when you wire up the primarys in series, to get 240 volts, so the Blue, neutral , and brown ,live, go to the power switch, and the Violet and grey wires, have to be put together and left, floating.

i made the mistake of cutting the wires which must have ,messed with the windings. the only reason i say that as After doing a few searches online for cutting the grey and violet wires.

One Amplifiers instructions i cam across said that the Violet and grey wires should not be cut. Smacks own hand. Im so glad it was'nt in the finished Amp.

:smash: :hot: