Understanding AC line filters better - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th May 2008, 05:08 PM   #1
pjpoes is offline pjpoes  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to pjpoes
Default Understanding AC line filters better

Ok so please bare with me here, I'm not an engineer by trade and am mostly self taught, so if any of this is wrong, I'm here to learn. I want to better understand the designing of AC line filters, and how values are chose for each of the components. I understand the role of a Varistor, the good and bad, and how values are chosen for that. It's the actual crossover or filter part.

Using John Risch's AC schematic we see what looks to me like essentially a 3rd order filter. However, because we are dealing with H, N, and G, it isn't something I can make analogous to a speaker crossover. However, I have a better understanding of those, so if someone wants to describe it in those terms, that would be best. We have a CLC filter basically, and I imagine that, based on the impedance of the load, the frequency it cuts off at will change. First question, how are values chosen here, and how crucial are the inductors and capacitors values?