anyone suggest a good quality replacement for NJM2115 [3028U] OP AMP - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Parts

Parts Where to get, and how to make the best bits. PCB's, caps, transformers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th March 2008, 05:25 PM   #1
at77 is offline at77  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default anyone suggest a good quality replacement for NJM2115 [3028U] OP AMP

hi there,
i'm contemplating modding an audio recording unit that i have.
in the input section it uses NJM2115 op amps. from what i've read so far online i think an OPA2134 will work well as a replacement, but i'm not experienced in this regard so i'm looking for advice and help as to not ruin my unit (if i can avoid it).
basically looking to open up the sound of it a bit.

the output stages use the NJM4580 [2 kinds (i think) labeled 2215U and 2218 U] and again from what i've read, either the AD8066 or the OPA2227 or OPA2228.
any experienced feedback would be appreciated, including advice for replacing the op amps as i have never done it before though i have moderate experience with electronics and a decent handle on soldering.
thanks
Old 24th March 2008, 05:41 PM   #2
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

Hi. NJM2115 is optimised for low supply voltage of 5v and works down to 2Volts supply, possibly using single ended supply rather than dual + & - . You might have problems swapping this one. The 4580 is more conventional, but think you need to find out what supplies your unit runs on. Is it a DAT recorder ? Also what package are they, DIP8 , or surface mount.
Regards Karl
Old 26th March 2008, 07:43 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

thank you Karl,
the unit is a MOTU 828 mkII firewire recording unit.