Oscilliscope reading 1/2 voltage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

Let me start by saying I am totally new to oscilloscopes. I just got my first scope (free!) a Kikusui COS5020. I have all the knobs off or zero'd I think...

When take try to take the voltage of a nine volt battery with the voltage units set to 1v the line jumps 4.5 lines or 4.5 volts.

When I attach the probe to the calibration lead which is .5 (Vp-p) I get a square wave that reads .25 v peak to peak.

Everything seems to be reading 1/2 voltage...am I missing something?

Thanks!

Mike

Hi,

Yes the CAL'd pot is turned clock wise and clicked off. The VAR pots on the volt/div selector are pushed in and both positions are clicked off.

The line voltage selector on the back for the power supply is set to 110-120 volts. I assume this is a regional thing.

Both sets of probes and both channels behave the same. One question is - the input for the probes reads 25pf and the probes read 14pf...could this be my problem?

Here are some photos:

2268869393_ec139501bb.jpg
2269660042_8e334c86f3.jpg

Thanks,

Mike

AX tech editor
Joined 2002
Paid Member
mabie said:
Hi,

Yes the CAL'd pot is turned clock wise and clicked off. The VAR pots on the volt/div selector are pushed in and both positions are clicked off.

The line voltage selector on the back for the power supply is set to 110-120 volts. I assume this is a regional thing.

Both sets of probes and both channels behave the same. One question is - the input for the probes reads 25pf and the probes read 14pf...could this be my problem?

Here are some photos:

2268869393_ec139501bb.jpg
2269660042_8e334c86f3.jpg

Thanks,

Mike

It looks like the square wave in the bottom pic IS 0.5V pk-pk. Isn't that what it was supposed to be?

Jan Didden

and the answer is...