Ultrafast Diode bridge substitution

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've come to a delema in my car amp project planning.
I definatly need fast diodes for the rectifing but I don't have access to any bridges that even mention fast.
the Biggest diode I can get are 1 amp 100v (or 1000v bu it wno't make 2 much difference).
Can these be used for 6amp purposes with heatsinking?
how many would be needed to pull this off?

fr0st,

No, you can't. But, if they were ultrafast too you can put six of them in paralell to achieve your current needs. It's not the best option, in my opinion and I've never tried it before with six diodes, but, considering your information, you have no choice.

Regards

See the Michael Percy Audio catalog for a listing of available high speed rectification diodes and bridges. He lists IXYS 20A, 600V high speed bridges but they are expensive: $17 US. I just bought some discreet IR HEXFRED 8A, 600V diodes from Digikey for $1.32 US each (qty = 10). Don't know about sources for these parts on your side of the globe.

Ren

bahh.... I should never post when tired
I found some TO 220 15a fast diodes in a electronics catalogue of a place near me which suits me perfectly.
I still have a question about the core sizing.
can a 3.5cm core withstand 400watts?
It will have cooling (fan forced) and suitable gauge winding.
Thanks for your help

fr0st said:
I still have a question about the core sizing.
can a 3.5cm core withstand 400watts?

I assume when you say 3.5cm, you mean the area of the core in square centimeters? If so, then it depends on the average path length of the core. (ie, it's basically the mass of the core, not just the area)