first easy cheap ect...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
ok. I am not rich. follow me very very carefully here, not rich. i am a student in electrical engineering, but am only in second semester circut analysis which is coverng RC and RL circuts now. no semiconductors yet.

In any case, i've been wanting to build a VERY SIMPLE amplifier for some speakers i have or could easily get.

I am looking to spend as little as possible for everything. seriously here. you must make note of this. I can't buy a gold plated heatsink or diamond powder coated inductors ect...

I noticed an IC amplifier: http://sales.goldmine-elec.com/prodinfo.asp?prodid=4392

and was wondering if it would be any good at all. not looking for audiophile quality, but also don't want it to hiss at me ect...

i also haven't chosen the speakers yet, so I'm open to suggestions. cheap suggestions.

I've also been toying with the idea of bi-amping or i guess in this case tri-amping a setup. I don't really watch DVDs, mainly just stereo. I do like bass, but i live in a dorm and don't want to get myself in trouble, so i guess i really shouldn't have a huge amount of output.

Also, i don't have a huge amount of room in my room, also, should you use one set of tweeters for the front and none in the rear, or what? for a small room needing little output, and also a small box, what should i look for?

hmm.. thats interesting. i'm looking to find prices on the IC (or ICs)...

i am thinking of 6 of the lm1875, 1 per channel, and 2 lm3875 for the subwoofer channel. the datasheets say they don't like a capacitive load. don't speakers exibit a capacitive load near resonance?

You can get free samples from National Semiconductor. Check out their sample program on their website. Because you are a student, they will give you some free samples.