Quality amp, specifically for HF drivers?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
For my new 12" coaxial tops, I'm considering NOT using a passive crossover.
I'll need a third, low power stereo amp, for the HF.

I've never done this before, but I assume that an amp could be designed specifically for use above 1 KHz, so as to get excellent performance at a reasonable price point. I would assume class D can be avoided, since HF doesn't pull a lot of amps. (Do any low-powered class A live amps exist?)

I will probably be using a DriveRack Venu360, so I don't need any onboard DSP.
----------------------------------

Can anyone recommend a particular unit or brand?

It would have to be rackable, of course, 2U maximum, very light, and I guess around 200-300 watts per side @ 8 ohms.

I'm only interested in "very good" to excellent quality. (My other amps are Lab Gruppens)

What do you consider "low power"? I have a Yamaha P3500s powering comps in my big rig.. but those are 2" exit drivers, the smaller P2500s would do fine for 1" comps. These are excellent sounding amps IMO, they have even found some acceptance in home theater circles due to that sound quality and for being silent operating.

Thanks. I've read good things about the P3500S with HF drivers on another forum as well.
However, 33 lbs is getting up there!

One amp that looks promising is the QSC PLX1802. Still A/B, very low distortion, and only 13 lbs. $900, but what can you do?
-------------

As for how much power -

Radian doesn't yet spec the HF driver separately, It's a brand new coax, but I know it's a 2" throat / 3" coil, so it has to be their 760NEOPB / 760NEOBePB driver.

They spec the 16 ohm version at 105w from 500 Hz up, so the 8 ohm, at the 900 -1200Hz point I'll be crossing, must be at least 125w.
113dB sensitivity.