PA loudspeaker dispersion design patterns

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm planning on embarking on my first journey into PA loudspeaker design. I fully understand that this is not the most economical way to make good sound for PA purposes but I've been designing Hifi loudspeakers for over 10 years and I'm ready for a new kind of project.

The best thing I've learned in my foray into Hifi loudspeaker design is that attention to what is happening off-axis makes all of the difference in the world. However, I'm having a hard time understanding dispersion goals of point source PA boxes.

The target location is a pretty small church with a room that is approximately 70' wide by 120' deep by only 10' high to the bottom of the rafter. The room is currently setup with a pair of MR 825 JBL's with 15" woofers and 1" tweeter. Due to ceiling height limitations and interference with lighting, the speakers are turned on their side. The horn patterns are 100x80 so basically we are getting an 80 degree (if we are lucky) wide pattern right now that does not provide adequate coverage on the sides. Note that the speakers are placed only about 3-4 feet apart dead center. There is some room between rafters to move the speakers up but that may cause problems depending on frequency. Like a 3 way low frequency driver could recess into the rafters but I don't think the bottom of a 2 way will work pushed up.

Since we can't really move speakers back further due to feedback concerns, I was hoping to move the speakers further apart and come up with a nice wide dispersion design.

So most people who design hifi speakers would never use a 15" driver crossed over at 2kHz as beaming will happen well before the crossover point. In PA speakers, is this often done just to save cost or is the beaming meant to meet the dispersion characteristics of the tweeter?