blowing fuse - Peavey CS-800

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here,
I've learned a lot reading past threads, as title says, I have acquired a Peavey CS-800, 2nd version i believe, (4 ohm min, 400 watts per channel, Wind tunnel)
had a open main fuse, replaced, blew pretty quick (with sparks from under the main (output ?) board; upon inspection I found the large resistor on the power supply board loose and overheated - re soldered; and the triac (SAC-187) on the "A" channel shorted, and the trace on one of the legs blown open.
Questions:
1. Where do I check rail voltage? (like I said newbie). i have reinstalled the power supply and hooked up the fan, it powers up and fan comes on.
2. I should be able to hook up the "B" channel to test, Correct? or should I just wait for the replacement Triac and test both?

any and all advise welcome.

Andy

(I have about 15 years as an industrial electrician, so know how to be safe around electricity)

There are various versions of these. On the version B schematic I have, the triac on the channel is the DC protection triac, that detects DC on the output and blows the main fuse to protect your speaker from burning the coil insulation or tearing the suspension. So the triac is the last thing you want to replace, after everything else is perfect. That means no DC on the output and passes sound okay into a trash speaker through a 50 uf plastic cap. (to protect the speaker from dC).
If your this new, lesson one is don't ever measure voltage with two hands. Current across your heart over 24 v can stop it. Use a clip lead on the negative probe to speaker ground. (On the back). The speaker ground of the channel you are working on. Many Peaveys have different returns for the two channels : version B probably is not since it is quasi comp.