12 spkrs on 4-8 ohms amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
In my church I have a Power AMP - StudioMaster DJA 800 which has 2 channels with the following specs :
8 Ohms(2 X 165WRMS)
4Ohms(2 X 250WRMS)

DJA_800_Studio_Master.jpg

We have 12 speakers - Quest MS801W whose power handling is between 120 to 240W @8Ohms...These also have a Line Matching Transformer tapping setting on it(100V, 60W / 40W / 35W / 20W +8O Direct)..

Quest_MS801_W.jpg

The problem is :- Of these 12, 10 speakers are already connected currently to the same AMP by someone in sets of 5 each per channel - I assume they are in parallel, can I use a multi meter to measure the Ohms where the wires terminate at the rear side of the Amp..... because for some reason we feel the output is pressed, it lacks clarity/loudness when we speak into the mics and play the Keyboard....during prayers.

So I have to connect 6 speakers to one channel and then the other 6 to the other channel....
So If I do a series/parallel connection(first set of 3 spkrs in parallel then series and next set of 3 spkrs in parallel again replicating the same for the other side) on both side I will get 5.33 Ohms in total on each side which is between 4-8 ohms. This is the wiring diagram I drew for my understanding

SP_Diag.jpg

Is is a good connection and also how much power will each speaker drive, I assume the power for each speaker will be somewhere between 30-40w, but isn't this less that the min requirement of each speaker as per the specs......or will it just work fine.

Last edited:
First thing to do is figure out if these speakers are already set up in a 70v distributed configuration--they'd almost have to be if they're currently all wired in parallel.
After you determine the configuration, you'll want to then purchase an amp capable of properly driving the speakers.
70v: