Opinion on the Behringer KM1700 Class-H amp

Hey everybody!

Since I just ordered a Behringer iNuke 3000DSP for my subwoofer, I thought I'd look at my options for an amplifier for my fronts. I stumbled across the KM1700 because I know that it's basically like Class A/B but with a variable and dynamic voltage rail. Correct me if I'm wrong!

They're slightly (and that's a mild expression) overpowered at 2x500w into 8Ohms. My speakers are barely 90 Watts RMS (if they're set as fullrange. They can take slightly more when not in fullrange, I suppose. Or less? Less movement is less cooling hmmmmm.)

Since I'm not very good with the specification-sheet reading, what would your opinion be? I can't actually find a specsheet. :(

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Anna

https://www.amazon.com/Behringer-KM1700-BEHRINGER/dp/B01MAY7S7W

Behringer KM1700
limiter is switchable
front-to-back ventilation
frequency response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz (@-10 dB), 10 Hz - 80 kHz (@-3 dB)
THD: <0.03%
signal-to-noise: >100 dB
sensitivity: 0.77 V/26 dB/1.4 V (switchable)
dimensions: 482 x 375 x 88 mm (w*d*h)
weight: 12.5 kg

Last edited:
This looks like a very interesting amp to me, and I have mentioned this in another thread in the PA forum about it's little brother, the KM750.

The KM1700 reminds me of the EP2500. It's a class-H amp which, like you mentioned, is more like class AB than the class-D of the iNUKE series. It has two fans versus one on the EP2500 (I would do a fan mod if I bought one). The price is quite affordable at $199 for 500W/ch into 8R. While this might be "overkill" for your mains in terms of average power, it's not as overpowered as you might think for "peak power". You can think of it like a 100WPC amp with a good amount of headroom. This means your amp will not clip on peaks, unless you really listen to compressed music at very high levels. And yes, it does have the capability to fry your speakers, so don't play it too loud too long.

Thanks for your extensive reply!