How good are Prolok snakes?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i have to buy a snake for school and ran into an offer for Prolok PCSN 32x8 150f snake, but I am not sure about their quality, they come w/ Neutrik connectors though. Another offer of Raptor is much more expensive.
Can anyone give me a clue?
Thanks!

it appears to be of reasonable quality from a connector standpoint but their website doesn't give any spec on the cable what sort of a price difference are we talking about?
short of spec's like pf/ft and crosstalk it's hard to say
what sort of school/institution are you attending? or is this an activity/extra curricular program?

Prolok snake for school activities

I am a teacher - with some audio studies and practice background - in a German school in Latin America and the responsible for audio during school events. We have decent YAMAHA 32x4x2 mixer, active dbTechnologies F315 speakers + dBTech sub + effect gear + SHURE/SENNHEISER/AKG mics.
For our choir, rockband or marimba its just fine. I really want good sound.

Our custom made 20x4 100ft. snake has seen better days; recently it started to fail- some channel completely, some fail transmitting phantom power -who knows why. I´m running out of channels, and for our settings it has become too short.
So we decided to buy a new one, and I ran into the hard-to-belive-offer on Prolok (780 USD instead of original 1000, i suspect the store will close). The Raptor in another store is USD 2200. The difference is huge. I googled on Prolok but only got very basic info. So I don´t know what to do.
I am looking forward to your evaluation.
Thanks in advance!

it's pretty close spec wise to a Belden 1932a so other than build quality/durability i can't say it would be a bad choice.