Quality boombox/PA for Opera singer small audience

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've read on these forums there are some very good knowledged people who understand how to deal with amplificators and speakers.

Now what is wrong here, people telling me their personal experience with family members and friends and trying to discourage me from making this stuff, really guys you are not encouraging!
Ok, I'll encourage you: go build your crappy harebrained car radio PA and be done with it. :rolleyes:

Im no PA expert but I bet that one or two of the diysoundgroup.com seos speakers with a decent mike/amp would be your best bet. Alchemy 8 is probably minimum or one of the bigger models. Portable enough, efficient enough, and cheap enough, but still some quality sound that covers the full vocal range.

"The box internal sizes, approximately WxDxH 350mm x 200mm x 350mm"

You could fit Celestion Vintage 30 in that box:
Classic - Vintage 30 - Celestion - Guitar, Bass & Pro Audio Speakers

Covers the vocal range quite nicely and as efficient as anything you can put in box that size.
No need for any crossover stuff, just be sure to take 8ohm version, so you get more power from your amplifier.

Sorry, but I'll have to disagree here. That driver does nothing above 4kHz and will be beaming like crazy up there anyway.

I'm with everyone else - you don't need a small PA for an Opera singer :D

I saw a programme a number of years ago, I think it was about the Leeds Opera Company? - and a scheme they were doing going around primary schools promoting opera and singing.

The only part I can remember (because it made such an impression) was right at the beginning, where this woman introduced herself to the school, in morning assembly.