Bose L1 type PA build - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > PA Systems

PA Systems A forum for discussion of all parts of a sound reinforcement or DJ system: loudspeakers, mixers (desks) etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd August 2015, 02:12 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Bose L1 type PA build

Hi there,
I'm a noob here and looking for advice. Had a look around and forgive me if this is covered elsewhere.

I was thinking of building a LA PA system in the Bose L1 fashion.This would be for my bands vocals and acoustic guitar /blues harp primarily and we play in small enough venues but I would like to have plenty of headroom. Maybe you guys could help with my thinking (or lack of). I figured looking around the posts here that the Faital 4" speaker would be a good unit to use. I thought a column of these each side (12)and a 15"Sub(maybe 18") and not sure what to use as hf drivers or how many. For a really good quality sound with plenty of power what ratio of power would I need between Bass Mid and Top assuming a 3way active system (I am leaning towards 2kW bass).Any help with choice of hf driver and any pointers would be appreciated. One of the main objectives here is a portable light weight system all things being relative

Thanks in advance
Ed
Old 24th August 2015, 05:58 AM   #2
djk is offline djk
diyAudio Member

I would probably use the 3FE25 Faital Pro driver, Art Welter here likes them for HF.

Click the image to open in full size.

The guys at Speakerplans like them too, using them in lines of 8~16 drivers.

16 drivers would handle 640W on program material. I would cross them around 150hz to a dual 12 PPSL cabinet, about a 2' cube.

Click the image to open in full size.

(cat is optional)