Bose L1 type PA build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,
I'm a noob here and looking for advice. Had a look around and forgive me if this is covered elsewhere.

I was thinking of building a LA PA system in the Bose L1 fashion.This would be for my bands vocals and acoustic guitar /blues harp primarily and we play in small enough venues but I would like to have plenty of headroom. Maybe you guys could help with my thinking (or lack of). I figured looking around the posts here that the Faital 4" speaker would be a good unit to use. I thought a column of these each side (12)and a 15"Sub(maybe 18") and not sure what to use as hf drivers or how many. For a really good quality sound with plenty of power what ratio of power would I need between Bass Mid and Top assuming a 3way active system (I am leaning towards 2kW bass).Any help with choice of hf driver and any pointers would be appreciated. One of the main objectives here is a portable light weight system all things being relative

Thanks in advance
Ed

I would probably use the 3FE25 Faital Pro driver, Art Welter here likes them for HF.

3FE25_response_8.gif

The guys at Speakerplans like them too, using them in lines of 8~16 drivers.

16 drivers would handle 640W on program material. I would cross them around 150hz to a dual 12 PPSL cabinet, about a 2' cube.

pudhpullsubquad12_zpsb771020a.jpg

(cat is optional)

This is a quad 12 PPSL, a dual would probably all you need. This one goes to 27hz and can handle 2.2KW on program material. Each pair of 12s will have the same output as an expensive 18, but with much less distortion, and lower cost.

Hi djk

Thank you for your advice. Its very helpful. Is there a drawing for the PPSL 12". A 2' cube would be an ideal small size for us. Haven't seen that design before.
Does using the 3" woofer mean I dont need a crossover to a HF bullet/tweeter and could just use a 2 way system.