Mini PA system question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > PA Systems

PA Systems A forum for discussion of all parts of a sound reinforcement or DJ system: loudspeakers, mixers (desks) etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th June 2012, 04:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Mini PA system question

Hello, I am looking to make a mini PA system for my bike. I am trying to keep it relatively inexpensive. I am wondering if this combo would work. I am a complete newb to audio stuff, so bare with me. lol. Any input would be helpful, and thanks in advance.
New Vaas Portable Mini Speaker for any USB or 3.5mm Audio Device - 3 Colors | eBay
Amazon.com: Compact Waterproof Two-Way Radio Speaker Mic for Yaesu VX-8 w/Audio Out Jack: Electronics

Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Old 12th June 2012, 07:35 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I'm personally not a fan of those tiny speakers. If you've heard them, and know exactly what you're in for, then that's okay. If you haven't, I'd advise you to look elsewhere.

Without dismantling the mic, I've no idea if it'll work: it would appear to be made for a specific receiver (which may supply a voltage for a condenser mic to work - without this voltage supply, you'll get nothing out of the mic).
You could try other mics, but...

Microphones tend to put out very tiny signals; much smaller than those from iPods etc. The signals will therefore require some boosting before they're big enough to put into the speaker and then get reasonable volume out.

Google microphone preamp circuit - they're usually nice and simple, so you could probably attach the small circuitboard to the speaker itself to keep things need. Pick a reasonably cheap hand-held microphone, and go from there.