Peavey 1.3k versus PV-2000

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My Peavey 1.3k that I have been monkeying with for several months, has a shorted B side power transformer. Reads continuous on ohms scale, but collapses to 3 volts on one side of center tap if both B top and bottom are loaded with 700 ohms to center tap. I had first replaced the output caps, thinking maybe one was leaking (they are 18 years old)
I think I'm going to have to buy a new transformer. The original peaks at 95 VDC per rail, which I calculate at about 66 Vaverage (as transformers are sold). I'm actually reading above 90 VDC on the A side. My first thought was connect both output stages to the A side of the transformer and make a Peavey 650, but I'm afraid the A side would go assymetric with any load with a shorted turn in there and blow output transistors with the DC offset. There is only a 4k resistor pair establishing speaker return voltage. Any thoughts on that?
So the rated output is 51 V 8 ohm. I was wondering if modern transistors can run closer to the rail voltage without distorting much. I've actually installed MJ21195G and MJ21196G transistors, they are cheaper. Original OTs are MJ15024 and MJ15025 by the cross ref list. So maybe I could buy a lower voltage transformer or SMPS and waste less heat. 58 V rating instead of 68V?
I looked at the Peavey PV-2000 schematic for guidance, and it only has 3 O.T. pairs instead of 5, same part number!!! ???? The rail voltage is not listed on the PV-2000 schematic, which would be interesting to know.
I'm looking at Antekinc 1500 VA toroids and connexelectronic A1000SMPS with the stranded wire (1200 W) option. Various voltages are available. Any thoughts about the switching noise of the connexelectronic unit? Do I have to build a steel box around it? I've got plenty of junk finned heat sinks from blown motor drives.