Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > PA Systems

PA Systems A forum for discussion of all parts of a sound reinforcement or DJ system: loudspeakers, mixers (desks) etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th May 2011, 06:54 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Building PA. Need Help with Crossover.

Hello,

I'm building a PA for my band to save a little money and to get a better band for our money. Where I'm stumped is the cross over and wiring Speakon jacks. I haven't bought anything yet, but here are the plans.

I will build the cab myself, which I have some experience doing. I've built my own car audio cabs and recently a 5E3 guitar amp.

The mains will be a 2 way design. Here are the drivers I plan to use.

Selenium D220Ti 1" Titanium Horn Driver 8 Ohm 1-3/8"-18

Dayton Audio PA380-8 15" Pro Woofer

Here is a cross over that might work? I'm not sure what to use for a crossover.

Dayton Audio XO2W-2K 2-Way Crossover 2,000 Hz

The PA will be for small to medium (100-150 people) venues. Also, what about attenuating the 1" driver incase it is too loud? Any help would be appreciated.
Old 27th May 2011, 09:51 PM   #2
Xoc1 is offline Xoc1  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

I my opinion trying to cross over a 15" to a 1" compression driver is not going to work very well. The 2 drivers are not going to sound very good at the crossover point.
As you intend to use subs as well I would look at a 12" mid or even a 10" -
My 10" mids reach above 3Khz.
The other option is to use a bigger 1.5" or 2" HF driver, but this usually gets expensive!
As for HF attenuation try 'L pad attenuator' in your favourite search engine.
Old 27th May 2011, 10:29 PM   #3
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator