Building PA. Need Help with Crossover.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm building a PA for my band to save a little money and to get a better band for our money. Where I'm stumped is the cross over and wiring Speakon jacks. I haven't bought anything yet, but here are the plans.

I will build the cab myself, which I have some experience doing. I've built my own car audio cabs and recently a 5E3 guitar amp.

The mains will be a 2 way design. Here are the drivers I plan to use.

Selenium D220Ti 1" Titanium Horn Driver 8 Ohm 1-3/8"-18

Dayton Audio PA380-8 15" Pro Woofer

Here is a cross over that might work? I'm not sure what to use for a crossover.

Dayton Audio XO2W-2K 2-Way Crossover 2,000 Hz

The PA will be for small to medium (100-150 people) venues. Also, what about attenuating the 1" driver incase it is too loud? Any help would be appreciated.

I my opinion trying to cross over a 15" to a 1" compression driver is not going to work very well. The 2 drivers are not going to sound very good at the crossover point.
As you intend to use subs as well I would look at a 12" mid or even a 10" -
My 10" mids reach above 3Khz.
The other option is to use a bigger 1.5" or 2" HF driver, but this usually gets expensive!
As for HF attenuation try 'L pad attenuator' in your favourite search engine.:)

The Selenium unit is quite popular so I would take the route Xoc1 is suggesting and think about a 10". The attenuation can be done with fixed resistors or a variable L-pad if you think you might need to adjust it for each venue. The XO you might want help with as the off the shelf kind are not usually very satisfactory as the drivers themselves determine the components to be used rather than just putting together the components for a known impedance as they are offering in the one you link to.

Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005