Line array for PA use, part II - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > PA Systems

PA Systems A forum for discussion of all parts of a sound reinforcement or DJ system: loudspeakers, mixers (desks) etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th October 2010, 12:27 AM   #1
dave251 is offline dave251  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Line array for PA use, part II

So I've been using my little line array cabs for a few months now, and couldn't be more pleased with the results. Most of it has been solo vocal/guitar work, but have done a couple of larger groups.

So, the limitations: I've noticed, even though I've been able to eliminate monitor cabs, that I'm not getting quite the high frequency dispersion I'd like...begins to sound a bit dull as you move off axis more than about 45 degrees. If I really want to run the gain up, I can get plenty loud before feedback...but I lose the "bright" that I'd get from a floor monitor. Hmmm...

So I've been working on a "stackable" small format design and would like some input.

One 6 1/2" woofer @ 8ohms, 94dB sensitivity
Three dome tweets/series wiring( 8ohm--24ohm total ) at a rated sensitivity of 91dB.

I'm wondering if this configuration will match up correctly for sensitivity. I'll be using a simple 1st order x-over...

These cabs will be designed to "stack" up to 8 units high...that way the player can take however many he needs into the venue.

Thoughts, recommendations, appreciated.

Here's my first thread on the cabs I designed last spring:
Line array for PA use
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jvc line array.jpg (48.6 KB, 251 views)
Old 7th November 2010, 01:55 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to nandababaji